Leave no trace

Updated: Oct 21, 2021

I was taught as a kid that we leave places cleaner than we found them, so no littering and picking up trash even if it wasn't mine. When in nature, which is everywhere because we live on Mother Nature's Earth, we need to try and leave no trace, otherwise we will not have this beautiful planet we call home to live on.


As we go on adventures, walks around our neighborhoods, trips to the beach, or anywhere, we leave a bit of ourselves behind. Whether that is a footprint in the sand or trash that is littered, the impact is made. I'd personally only like to leave footprints so in order for that to happen we need to be prepared and plan ahead. The Leave No Trace Center for Outdoor Ethics has created the following Leave No Trace Seven Principles:


* Plan ahead and prepare - https://lnt.org/why/7-principles/plan-ahead-and-prepare/

* Travel & Camp on Durable Surfaces - https://lnt.org/why/7-principles/travel-camp-on-durable-surfaces/

* Dispose of Waste Properly - https://lnt.org/why/7-principles/dispose-of-waste-properly/

* Leave What You Find - https://lnt.org/why/7-principles/leave-what-you-find/

* Minimize Campfire Impacts - https://lnt.org/why/7-principles/minimize-campfire-impacts/

* Respect Wildlife - https://lnt.org/why/7-principles/respect-wildlife/

* Be Considerate of Other Visitors - https://lnt.org/why/7-principles/be-considerate-of-other-visitors/


***Leave No Trace is a national movement to protect the outdoors by teaching people how to enjoy it responsibly. For more information on this organization, go to https://lnt.org/

@leavenotracecenter



Leaving no trace of ourselves is hard work and very much worth the effort. We have an opportunity to make this world a better place and livable for our future generations as long as we put in the work. I challenge everybody to pick up 5 pieces of trash in an area you visit regardless if it is yours or not. Let's work together to show our appreciation for this beautiful Earth we have the pleasure of living on. Together we can save One Sea Star at at time.


#oneseastar #goinggreen #leavenotrace #environment

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All